Fiche

1. Basic facts

Capital city	Wellington
Currency	New Zealand dollar
Population	4,405,200
Area	268,000 km ²

2. Significant characteristics

New Zealand consists of 2 major islands: North Island and South Island, 1,600 km in total length. Is part of the Commonwealth.

3. Key dates

pre 1200	Maoris migrated from Polynesia and settled in New Zealand.
late 18 th century	Europeans began to settle in New Zealand.
19 th century	The British imposed their presence in spite of fierce resistance on the part of the Maoris.
1840	The Treaty of Waitingi: gave the Maoris the same rights as British citizens and guaranteed their possession of certain areas of land.
1841	The British government annexed New Zealand.
1907	New Zealand became a British dominion.

© 2000-2025, Miscellane